Florida Adjuster License: Become a Florida Insurance Claims Adjuster

Residents of the state of Florida and non-residents of states that do not require an appraiser’s license are eligible for the Florida All Lines Business or Independent Appraiser’s license if:

1. You are 18 years of age or older;

2. An online application is completed and the $ 55.00 application fee is paid;

3. You are a US citizen or legal alien with work authorization;

4. The fingerprints are submitted at one of the sites authorized by the Florida Department of Financial Services (applicants from other states will receive a fingerprint card from the department to complete);

5. Successfully complete the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation through the University of Central Florida, or one of the other authorized licensing designations, or pass the state licensing exam.

Florida also maintains a reciprocal license agreement with the following states.

Alabama: Independent Adjusters Only

Alaska – Independent Adjusters Only

Arkansas: Independent Adjusters Only

Connecticut: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Georgia: Public and Independent Adjusters Only. (Does not require a license for company adjusters)

Idaho: Independent Adjusters Only

Illinois: Public Adjusters Only

Kentucky: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Maine – Public and Independent Adjusters

Michigan – Public and Independent Adjusters

Mississippi – Independent Adjusters Only

New Mexico – Independent and Business Adjusters

North Carolina: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Oklahoma: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Oregon – Public and Independent Adjusters

Pennsylvania – Public Adjusters

South Carolina – Company and Independent Adjusters Only

Texas: Independent and Company Adjusters

West Virginia: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Washington – Public and Independent Adjusters

Wyoming: Independent, Public, and Company Adjusters

Utah – Public and Independent Adjusters

States that do not require an adjuster license include Colorado, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.


Florida first approved the accredited claims adjuster designation in 2003. This designation provided the first and original exemption from the state licensing exam. The course was available as a distance learning course through Florida Insurance University in association with the University of Central Florida in 2004. One in four adjuster licenses in Florida has been approved with the ACA designation.

Although other providers now offer claims adjuster designations, more than 250 insurance companies and adjusters use the ACA designation to license resident and non-resident adjusters. The ACA website can be located at http://www.ce.ucf.edu/insurance

The ACA designation consists of a series of open-book multiple-choice exams and a written assignment. Students will learn to read and research policy questions, identify complaint issues, and upon completion of the course, they will receive a certificate of completion from the University of Central Florida exempting them from the state licensing exam.


Each FL adjuster must complete 24 CE hours every two years to retain the license. The 24 hours must include 2 hour state approved courses – Ethics; 10 hours-Law; 12 hours-Optional.

All required courses are located on the UCF website and all work can be completed online at:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *